Who We Are


Established in 2012, the Pallamallawa War Memorial Committee was a Not-For-Profit organisation. The committee consisted of 6 members  (Jason Walker President, David Steer Vice President, Trudie MacNamara Treasurer, Peter Koschmann Secretary, and committee members Kathleen Walker and Katrina Smith)  who met on a monthly basis to collaboratively seek innovative and cost effective approaches to recognising Pallamallawa Servicemen.

The most significant achievement of the Pallamallawa War Memorial Committee was the fundraising, construction and opening of the visible and external Pallamallawa War Memorial on 25 April 2015. The granite memorial lists the conflicts that people from Pallamallawa have been involved in, including: Boer War, First World War, Second World War and Vietnam.

The primary initiative’s involved in accomplishing this included;

  • Lodgement and successful attainment of government and local council funding
  • Petitioning
  • Secured $10,000 of fundraising through 2 successful 100 clubs.
  • Held a successful town Christmas party in conjunction with the first 100 club draw
  • Held a successful Anzac Day morning tea and commemoration (not service) in conjunction with the second 100 club draw
  • Secured the support of the Moree Shire Pains Council
  • Secured the support of State MP Kevin Humphries, member for Barwon
  • Secured the support of Federal MP Mark Coulton, member for Parkes.
  • Had several articles published in the local newspapers
  • Had several segments on both local commercial and public Radio Stations
  • Undertaken detailed research on the service records of Pallamallawa’s First World War veterans
  • Held information days displaying Pallamallawa’s contribution to Australia in times of war

Further to these achievements the Pallamallawa War Memorial Committee had secured the services of the Moree Shire Plains Council Building Services and Design team to help co-ordinate the building and design of the project. The Pallamallawa War Memorial Committee also comprised of 3 trades’ people who were, and continuously, able to volunteer their time and expertise in all aspects of the building and design works.

The committee has now amalgamated to become the Pallamallawa War Memorial Hall Committee who will continue to collaborate and ensure that the Pallamallawa Servicemen are recognised in an appropriate and heroic manner.